Thursday, 21 January 2010

Short List for Livingston Labour Candidate Announced

A short list of four to replace disgraced Livingston MP Jim Devine has been announced. Senior Labour Councillor Ian Murray who is understood to have put his name forward is not on the list.

The four are:

  • Graeme Morrice former West Lothian Council leader
  • John McGinty West Lothian Councillor
  • Gordon Connolly community education worker
  • Adenike Abimbola-Akindele former House of Commons worker

Morrice is Councillor for Broxburn, Uphall and Winchburgh to the north east of the constituency. He currently serves on the Local Area Committee, Avoidance of Disputes Committee, Policy and Resources Policy Development and Scrutiny panel and the Joint Consultative Group. He had acted as leader on the Labour controlled Council until the SNP took over as largest party in 2007. In 2007 he was the fourth elected Councillor of four under STV in an area he had represented part of for 20 years.

McGinty is actually one of my local councillors in Bathgate, outwith the Livingston seat, but only just you would say. He serves on the Education Executive Committee, Audit Committee, Local Area Committee, Appeals Committee, Education Policy Development and Scrutiny Panel, Health and Care Policy Development and Scrutiny Panel and the Joint Consultative Group (Teaching Staff).

Connolly is theInternational Partnerships Development Officer with West Lothian Council.

Abimbola-Akindele is the outsider coming from Hackney. She is a school governor and a committee member of Africans for Labour. Looking for that 'safe' Labour seat has already sought selection in Thrurock to replace Andrew Mackinlay only last month. Previously seeking to stand in the next general election for Bury in October, Carlisle, Barrow.

No comments:

Post a Comment